← How to Become a Chiropractor

Findings · No. 1

What chiropractic school actually costs, and what graduates actually earn.

Every accredited program publishes its own numbers, and every one of them concludes it is the right choice. Nobody publishes the comparable view. This page does — one federally reported figure per program, same definition, same source, including the unflattering ones. Represented, not ranked.

Source U.S. Dept. of Education Pulled September 1, 2026 Covers 88% of annual graduates

The three numbers

$165,800–$245,218
Median federal debt at completion, across the ten programs the Department reports on
$61,163
Median earnings four years after completion, nationally
~2,650
Doctor of Chiropractic degrees awarded per year, all programs

Those three sit in tension, and the tension is the finding. Half of all graduates at these programs finished owing more than $193,000, and four years later the middle of the profession's graduates was earning $61,163 — a quarter of them under $33,422.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics puts the median wage for all chiropractors at $79,200. Both numbers are correct, and they answer different questions. BLS describes everyone practising today, at every career stage. The Department of Education figure describes graduates during the years they are actually making loan payments. If you are deciding whether to enrol, the second one describes the years you will live through first.

Every program the Department reports on

Sorted by median debt. Ordering by a reported figure is a fact; calling any of these the best value would be a verdict, and this page does not make verdicts. Debt is median cumulative federal loan debt at completion. Earnings are median earnings four years after completion. Both are reported under the same federal definitions.

ProgramState Median debt at completion Graduates in cohort Median earnings, 4 yrs out Degrees / yr
Northeast College of Health SciencesNY$165,800224$73,854109
Logan UniversityMO$181,11443$60,806227
Palmer College of ChiropracticIA$184,786974$62,214558
Southern California University of Health SciencesCA$186,190127$56,605141
Northwestern Health Sciences UniversityMN$189,656227$60,506140
Parker UniversityTX$197,321339$62,795330
Sherman College of ChiropracticSC$200,332over cap176$44,87497
University of Western StatesOR$201,184over cap202$69,126154
Life Chiropractic College WestCA$206,392over cap278$55,900155
Life UniversityGA$245,218over cap684$57,734423
University of BridgeportCTnot reported33
National University of Health SciencesILnot reported65
Cleveland University–Kansas CityKSnot reported110
Texas Chiropractic CollegeTXnot reported66
D'Youville UniversityNYnot reported25
Universidad Central del CaribePRnot reported17
Campbellsville UniversityKYnot reported

Seven programs show no debt or earnings figure. That is not an omission on our part and it is not a judgement about those schools — the Department suppresses figures for small cohorts to protect privacy. They are listed anyway, because a table that quietly drops the programs it lacks data for is a misleading table.

The part that changed in July

Grad PLUS ended for new borrowers on July 1, 2026. Federal borrowing for professional programs is now capped at $50,000 a year and $200,000 in total.

Chiropractic is named explicitly among the eleven statutory professional degree fields, alongside medicine, dentistry, law, pharmacy, veterinary medicine, optometry, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, theology and clinical psychology. So the $200,000 cap is the figure that applies to a Doctor of Chiropractic program, not the lower $100,000 general graduate cap.

At four of the ten reporting programs, the median graduate already borrowed more than a student starting today is permitted to borrow at all. Median — so half of each of those classes was above it.

If you are already enrolled

A legacy provision applies. If you received a Direct Loan or Grad PLUS disbursement for your current program before July 1, 2026 and remain continuously enrolled in that same program, you can generally continue borrowing under the previous rules for up to three more academic years or until you complete, whichever comes first. Confirm the details with your own financial aid office — this page is not advice and individual situations differ.

One live caveat: a federal court preliminarily stayed part of the Department's professional-degree definition on June 24, 2026. Check the current status before relying on the classification.

This is the single most consequential fact on this page, and it is eight weeks old. Every piece of affordability guidance written before July 1 — including most of what this profession has published — describes a financing system that no longer exists.

It does not mean those programs are unaffordable. It means the gap between the cap and the cost now has to close some other way: institutional aid, private loans on different terms, family resources, or working through. Anyone advising a prospective student on cost right now should be asking each program directly how they intend to close it.

What this data does not tell you

The limitations matter as much as the figures, so they are stated rather than buried.

Why we published it

Every school in this profession publishes its own cost and outcome figures, and every one of them is assembled by people whose job includes filling a class. That is not dishonesty; it is structure. But it means a prospective student comparing programs is comparing seventeen documents written by seventeen parties with the same incentive, and none written by a party with none.

ChiroTrack does not run a Doctor of Chiropractic program, does not recruit for one, and does not take placement fees from any school. Publishing the comparable numbers — including the ones that make schools we admire look expensive — is the only way to demonstrate that. A resource that only ever published flattering figures would not be worth reading.

If you want to check this

Every figure comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, CIP code 51.0101, first professional degree, pulled on September 1, 2026. It is a public API and it does not require a key. The occupation-level wage figures come from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, SOC 29-1011, May 2025 data. Accreditation counts come from the Council on Chiropractic Education, which accredits 19 programs across 21 locations.

If you find an error, tell us and we will correct it and say that we did.

What to do with this

This page is meant to be used, forwarded and argued with. Depending on who you are:

Sources

Published September 1, 2026 · Last verified September 1, 2026